• Home
  • PMN Winter Round Robin (Online Swap)

PMN Winter Round Robin (Online Swap)

  • 01/30/2021
  • 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM
  • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=88Aelh3HgH0

Registration

  • Requires code.
  • If you wish to join PMN, see https://www.peoplesmusic.org/join-PMN

Registration is closed


What is the PMN Round Robin?

PMN Members who are registered for the 2021 Virtual PMN Winter Convergence may use the registration form on this page to sign up to share a song or a poem in the "Round Robin".  This event is an evening of sharing by PMN members where we especially encourage first time members to participate.  All members are invited to sign up to share one song, spoken word, storytelling, or dance piece.  We have a strict 5 minute limit.  There is no set topic.  We simply ask that participating artists relate their performance to PMN's mission of using music, poetry, and other forms of cultural work as catalysts for a just and peaceful world.  

The Round Robin is the quintessential activity of People's Music Network Gatherings.  You can read a brief history of the People's Music Network written by Charlie King and Luci Murphy, which describes the first Round Robin in 1977.   The format of the Round Robin will be similar to PMN's online song swaps since March 2020, but there will be more hosts, more performers, and more fanfare, and it will go longer than usual. 

Livestream

The content of the Round Robin will also be livestreamed free of charge via the PMN Facebook Page AND the PMN Youtube Channel.

Registering and Connecting

Registered performers and audience members will receive an e-mail message containing the Zoom Meeting link.  Registering as a performer doesn't automatically mean you will be included in the final performance line up, but it is the first step (See below, "How we Select the Performers").  We will do our best to include you.  

Registration Deadline: Wednesday, January 27 at 9:00 PM (EDT)

The order of performance will be released the morning after the registration deadline.  You may register for this event after the deadline and you'll be added to the wait list.

LYRICS:  Posted the day before the Round Robin.

PERFORMER LIST:  Posted the day before the Round Robin.

Eligibility to Perform

Performers in this swap must:

1)   Be PMN members in good standing.* 

2)   Register using this online form.

3)   Also be registered for the 2021 Virtual PMN Winter Convergence.

4)   Have a computer with functioning video camera and microphone.

* If you are not a PMN member, you may join here: https://www.peoplesmusic.org/join-PMN

How we Select the Performers

Every PMN member wishing to perform at this event is invited to register and to do so sooner than later.  Selection for the final performer list, however, is not first-come first-served.  Instead, we give priority to new PMN members as well as PMN members who have not yet performed in one of our previous online swap events.  We hold these song swap events regularly.  If we can't fit you in this time, anticipate more opportunities soon!

LYRICS AVAILABLE: http://bit.ly/2021-01-30-Lyrics_PMN_Swap

PERFORMER LIST:
0. 7.10 PM(ET) - PMN Virtual Choir (edited by John Fisher) – ""If You're Looking for Freedom" by John Fromer"
1. 7.15 PM(ET) - Pat Lamanna – "Let Us Be Still" www.patlamanna.com
2. 7.20 PM(ET) - David Heitler-Klevans – "We Give Thanks in Hard Times" www.twoofakind.com
3. 7.25 PM(ET) - Andy Shapiro – "What If I'm Wrong" www.www.andyshapiromusic.com
4. 7.30 PM(ET) - Mara Levine with Gathering Time – "By My Silence by Ellen Bukstel and Nick Annis" www.maralevine.com
5. 7.35 PM(ET) - Derek Kalteaux – "Everybody Has a Price" www.instagram.com/kalteaux
6. 7.40 PM(ET) - Lindsey Wilson – "Keep On" www.Lindseywilsonmusic.com
7. 7.45 PM(ET) - David Tarlo and Friends Sing-a-long – "Le Mot Ami" www.HudsonValleySally.com
8. 7.50 PM(ET) - David Calloway – "Stan Rogers' White Collar Holler"
9. 7.55 PM(ET) - Sarah Pirtle – "The Respect Girls Project of Sierra Leone by Elizabeth and Paul Kaku" www.sarahpirtle.com/hope-sings/elandria.htm
10. 8.00 PM(ET) - Jason Baker – "A Little Further Down The Road" www.jbakervt.com/
11. 8.05 PM(ET) - Sing in Solidarity – "TBA"
12. 8.10 PM(ET) - Marilyn Miller – "Stripes and Stars" www.MarilynMillerMusic.com
13. 8.15 PM(ET) - Michael & Nell – "Welcome Home" www.shelbysong.com
14. 8.20 PM(ET) - Nadine Dyskant-Miller – "The Otters Holt/Tarboltan/Mamzelle Kennedy" www.confluence-music.com
15. 8.25 PM(ET) - Sandy Pliskin – "Hats & Mittens" www.sandypliskin.bandcamp.com
16. 8.30 PM(ET) - Sheri Hinshaw – "One in Six" www.seattlelaborchorus.org
17. 8.35 PM(ET) - Jonathan Best – "Enough Is Enough" www.jonathanbest.com/
18. 8.40 PM(ET) - Barry Oreck – "Each Song is a Seed" www.barryoreckmusic.com
19. 8.45 PM(ET) - Micki McCune – "Listen to the River" www.leftcoastlabourchorus.com
20. 8.50 PM(ET) - Laurie Siegel – "TBA" www.HudsonValleySally.com
21. 8.55 PM(ET) - Steve Eulberg – "TBA" www.owlmountainmusic.com
22. 9.00 PM(ET) - DC Labor Chorus – "TBA"
23. 9.05 PM(ET) - robert brashear – "Listen" www.revernation.com/robert brashear
24. 9.10 PM(ET) - Daniel and Faith – "Something's Gotta Change" www.danandfaith.com
25. 9.15 PM(ET) - Trouble Sisters and David Bernz and Patrick Stanfield Jones – "Rainbow Race sing-a-long"  
www.facebook.com/TroubleSisters

26. 9.20 PM(ET) - Barry Kornhauser – "(solo cello)"
27. 9.25 PM(ET) - Michelle Shocked – "Police Brutality" www.michelleshocked.com
28. 9.30 PM(ET) - Terry Kitchen – "Eyes of Tomorrow" www.terrykitchen.com
29. 9.35 PM(ET) - Liz Berlin (of Rusted Root & Social Justice Disco) – "Newbury Street" www.lizberlin.com
30. 9.40 PM(ET) - Don Billings – "Cabin Fever Song"
31. 9.45 PM(ET) - John Scott – "Flag of the Free"
32. 9.50 PM(ET) - Steve Siegelbaum – "If A Song"
33. 9.55 PM(ET) - William Miller – "Arthur McBride -- A New Approach"
34. 10.00 PM(ET) - Jenny Amanda Hurwitz – "TBA"
35. 10.05 PM(ET) - Scott Free – "The Dark Ages" www.scottfree.net
36. 10.10 PM(ET) - Sharleen Leahey – "If ICAN Can (Ban Nuclear Weapons)" www.sharleenleahey.com
37. 10.15 PM(ET) - Verne McArthur – "Charlie & the Biomass Train"
38. 10.20 PM(ET) - Louise Hetzler – "The Specal Ones"
39. 10.25 PM(ET) - Paul Kaplan – "After the Fire" www.paulkaplanmusic.com
40. 10.30 PM(ET) - Fields-Chern Prize Medalist, Nobel Laureate ELYAS FRAENKEL ISAACS PHD DPH DDIV DCJC MD GS100 – "Take Your Shoes Off, Moses [John Dill Jarvis, Manchester, Clay County, Kentucky] & This Little Light[Traditional]" www.ReverbNation/Bittersweet
41. 10.35 PM(ET) - Paul McKenna – "Bring Back the Light" www.paulmckennamusic.com
42. 10.40 PM(ET) - Marc Hecker – "Come Get Behind Me, Satan"
43. 10.45 PM(ET) - Violizzy – "Dancing in Ra’anana" www.Violizzy.com
44. 10.50 PM(ET) - Will Fudeman – "Break up the U S of A" www.willfudeman.com
45. 10.55 PM(ET) - Paul Goldman – "The Dancer"
46. 11.00 PM(ET) - Juliana Barnet – "Cuando Tenga la Tierra"
47. 11.05 PM(ET) - Colleen Kattau – "Get the show on the road" www.colleenkattau.com
48. 11.10 PM(ET) - Hali D Hammer – "When This Is Over" www.halihammer.com
49. 11.15 PM(ET) - Galen Brandt – "The Rocket And The Bomb"
50. 11.20 PM(ET) - Ryc Ward – "Oil and Gasoline!" www.rycward.com
51. 11.25 PM(ET) - Steve Suffet – "On My Long Journey Home" www.stevesuffet.com
52. 11.30 PM(ET) - Barbara Dyskant – "Finding Ourselves With the Music"
53. 11.35 PM(ET) - STORM just – "TBA"
54. 11.40 PM(ET) - Marcie Boyd – "TBA"
55. 11.45 PM(ET) - Alice Sutter – "Ode to Greta"
56. 11.50 PM(ET) - Jan Luby – "Gravity's Embrace" www.janluby.com
57. 11.55 PM(ET) - Jackson Gillman – "The Naked Truth" www.jacksongillman.com
58. 12.00 PM(ET) - Bonnie Lockhart – "TBA" www.bonnielockhart.com
59. 12.05 PM(ET) - Joel Landy – "When I Was Young" www.singfreedom.org
60. 12.10 PM(ET) - Alison Frost – "Parody to "So Long Dearie""
61. 12.15 PM(ET) - Ben Grosscup and the PMN Driveway Choir – "Let's Build a Socialist System" www.youtube.com/c/BenGrosscup

Technical Orientation Session: Thursday, January 28, 4:00-5:30 PM

Selected performers will receive an e-mail invitation to a technical orientation session at the time listed above by the morning of the same day.  We will discuss and practice how to get the best sound when sharing music on Zoom.  Each performer will have a chance to sing a verse of a song and then receive feedback on ways to improve the audio quality.  While perfection is not expected, artists new to Zoom are strongly encouraged to attend the tech run through, because doing so will build your confidence in using these tools.  The audio quality that listeners hear of your live performance depends on the equipment you have and how you use it.  Find tips to improve audio quality here.

Free Livestream

TUNE INTO THE LIVE BROADCAST via YOUTUBE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=88Aelh3HgH0

Saturday, January 30, 7:00 - 11:00 PM (ET)

**Past and future Livestreams are available through the PMN Facebook Live Page: https://www.facebook.com/Peoples.Music.Network/live

Help Publicize!

Encourage your friends to tune into this online musical event for progressive culture:  Share the event on Facebook!! 

https://www.facebook.com/events/266539684831929

© 2017 People's Music Network for Songs of Freedom and Struggle.
People's Music Network is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

PMN Video Livestreams on Facebook and Youtube

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software