• Home
  • Indigenous Peoples’ Day (Online Concert)

Indigenous Peoples’ Day (Online Concert)

  • 10/12/2020
  • 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM
  • https://www.facebook.com/Peoples.Music.Network/live/

Registration

  • Registration is not required for tuning into the livestream, but you may register to receive a reminder about the show and make a contribution to the People's Music Network.
  • Registration is not required for tuning into the livestream, but you may register to receive a reminder about the show and make an optional contribution to the People's Music Network.
  • Invited artists have been given a special registration code to use on this form. We ask invited artists to register to make it easier for us to promote your music in our event publicity.

Registration is closed


TUNE IN TO THE FREE LIVE BROADCAST via PMN's FACEBOOK PAGE
https://www.facebook.com/Peoples.Music.Network/live/
Monday, October 12, 7:00 - 9:30 PM (EDT)

* REGISTRATION isn't required to tune in to the free livestream above.  But when you register, you get an automatic reminder about the show and you can stick around for the post-show discussion on Zoom.  In addition, any financial contribution you make supports The People's Music Network.

From the flutes and strings of the high Andes, to the pounding blues beat of the Eastern woodlands; from the wailing oud of the Jordan Valley, to the ringing kulintang of Mindanao; the People’s Music Network is hosting a musical celebration of Indigenous Peoples’ Day.  

For decades, Indigenous Nations in the United States have led protests against honoring Christopher Columbus -- a man who initiated the genocide of the Indigenous Peoples of the Western Hemisphere and paved the way for the trans-Atlantic slave trade.  In this rich tapestry of musical styles from around the world, the People’s Music Network celebrates the unbreakable bonds of friendship and solidarity among Indigenous Peoples of the Western Hemisphere, Western Asia, the Philippines and Africa.

Agenda

  • 6:00-6:55 PM: Sound checks for performers
  • 6:55-7:00 PM: Informal introduction as we start up the livestream.  Audience allowed into Zoom room.
  • 7:00-9:00 PM: The Show (Line up below)
  • 9:00-9:30 PM: Livestream ends, Post-show hang out and greetings.

Performers (in order of performance)

1. 7:06 (EDT) Duo Wayta, "Por un mundo nuevo," Washington, DC (www.facebook.com/duowayta/)
2. 7:12 (EDT) Duo Wayta, "No basta rezar," Washington, DC (www.facebook.com/duowayta/)
3. 7:13 (EDT) Penny Gamble Williams, "Aquene," Maryland (http://www.iloveancestry.com/.../penny-gamble-williams.../)
4. 7:20 (EDT) Faith Nolan, "Highway Of Tears," Canada (www.faithnolan.org/)
5. 7:26 (EDT) Sarah Pirtle, "Mashalisk," Western Massachusetts (www.sarahpirtle.com)
6. 7:32 (EDT) Geronimo Ramirez, "Hijos del Jaguar," ()
7. 7:40 (EDT) Quartertonez Students, Faculty and Guest Sutdents, "We Were All Wounded At Wounded Knee," Washington, DC (www.quartertonez.com/)
8. 7:50 (EDT) Courtney Dowe, "Black Halo," Washington, DC (www.courtneydowemusic.com)
9. 7:55 (EDT) Kinding Sindaw, "," New York, NY (www.kindingsindaw.org)
10. 8:05 (EDT) Mixashawn, "AIM Song," Hartford, CT (www.mixashawn.com)
11. 8:12 (EDT) Murray Porter, "Same Canoe," North Vancouver, BC (www.murrayporter.ca)
12. 8:13 (EDT) Groovalottos, "Ever So Close," Massachusetts (www.theGroovaLottos.com)
13. 8:20 (EDT) Z-Y-G 808, "Obvious Insanity," Massachusetts (www.thezyg808.com)
14. 8:25 (EDT) Radmilla Cody, "Sounds of Awareness," Arizona (www.radmillacody.net)
15. 8:32 (EDT) Mike Marker, "," Vancouver, BC ()
16. 8:38 (EDT) Sihasin, "STRONG TOGETHER," Arizona (https://sihasin.com/)
17. 8:44 (EDT) Steve Deasy, "Before Our White Brothers Came," Canada (www.stevedeasy.com)
18. 8:50 (EDT) Desirae Harp, "Water So Deep, Water So Wide," California (www.newmusicusa.org/profile/desiraeharp)


Help Us Publicize!

FACEBOOK:  Spread the word on how people can tune into this special online musical event.  Share this event on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/events/1245333562485058

© 2017 People's Music Network for Songs of Freedom and Struggle.
People's Music Network is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

PMN Video Livestreams on Facebook and Youtube

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software