• Home
  • Round Robin at PMN Summer Convergence (Online Swap)

Round Robin at PMN Summer Convergence (Online Swap)

  • 06/05/2021
  • 7:00 PM - 11:00 PM
  • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NAXvCTsudOQ

Registration

  • Requires code.
  • If you wish to join PMN, see https://www.peoplesmusic.org/join-PMN

Registration is closed


Free Livestream

TUNE INTO THE LIVE BROADCAST via YOUTUBE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NAXvCTsudOQ

Saturday, June 5, 7:00 - 11:00 PM (ET)

**Past and future Livestreams are available through the PMN Facebook Live Page: https://www.facebook.com/Peoples.Music.Network/live

Help Publicize!

Encourage your friends to tune into this online musical event for progressive culture:  Share the event on Facebook!!  https://www.facebook.com/events/301390408276770


What is the PMN Round Robin?

Members of the People's Music Network who are registered for the 2021 Virtual PMN Summer Convergence may use the registration form on this page to sign up to share a song or a poem in the "Round Robin".  This event is an evening of sharing by PMN members where we especially encourage first time members to participate.  All members are invited to sign up to share one song, spoken word, storytelling, or dance piece.  We have a strict 5 minute limit.  There is no set topic.  We simply ask that participating artists relate their performance to PMN's mission of using music, poetry, and other forms of cultural work as catalysts for a just and peaceful world.  

The Round Robin is the quintessential activity of People's Music Network Gatherings.  You can read a brief history of the People's Music Network written by Charlie King and Luci Murphy, which describes the first Round Robin in 1977.   The format of the Round Robin will be similar to PMN's online Song and Poetry swaps that began in March 2020.  Only difference is that there will be more hosts, more performers, more fanfare, and it will go later than usual. 

Livestream

The content of the Round Robin will also be livestreamed free of charge via the PMN Facebook Page AND the PMN Youtube Channel.

Registering and Connecting

Registered performers and audience members will receive an e-mail message containing the Zoom Meeting link.  Registering as a performer doesn't automatically mean you will be included in the final performance line up, but it is the first step (See below, "How we Select the Performers").  We will do our best to include you.  

Registration Deadline: Wednesday, June 2 at 8:00 PM (ET)

LYRICS:  http://bit.ly/2021-06-05-RR-Lyrics

PERFORMER LIST (UPDATED 5:40pm on 6/5): 
1. 7.05 PM (ET) - Colleen Kattau – "Rain and Snow anthem (Swords into PLowshares)" www.colleenkattau.com
2. 7.10 PM (ET) - Verne McArthur – "Three Little Birds"
3. 7.15 PM (ET) - Left Coast Labour Chorus  – "We Were There" by Bev Grant   www.leftcoastlabourchorus.com/
4. 7.20 PM (ET) - Lindsey Wilson – "Ghost of Tom Joad" www.LindseyWilsonMusicNow.com
5. 7.25 PM (ET) - David Rovics – "Watch the Buildings Crumble" www.davidrovics.com
6. 7.30 PM (ET) - Seth Newton Patel (with The Golden Butterfly Band)  – "Indebted to Odetta" www.youtube.com/channel/UCkQ23t8dGfqs2Iz0uztGivg
7. 7.35 PM (ET) - Alison Frost – "Try to Remember (Parody)"
8. 7.40 PM (ET) - Marvelous Mariam  – "Poem: Damage has been Done"
9. 7.45 PM (ET) - Barbara Dyskant – "Big Black Snake"  
10. 7.50 PM (ET) - dilson hernandez – "Pambiche" www.dilsonmusic.com
11. 7.55 PM (ET) - Susan McNelis – "Rainy Year" www.susannahmusic.com
12. 8.00 PM (ET) - Joe Kidd & Sheila Burke  – "Nature Of Man" www.joekiddandsheilaburke.com
13. 8.05 PM (ET) - Joel Landy – "Holy Land" www.singfreedom.org
14. 8.10 PM (ET) - Candejah Pink – "Swing Swing Low"
15. 8.15 PM (ET) - Sandy Pliskin – "I Dream a World (spoken word)" www.sandypliskin.bandcamp.com
16. 8.20 PM (ET) - Shannon Murray – "Come All Ye Coal Miners"
17. 8.25 PM (ET) - Ambar Cádiz Véliz  – "Out Vizcachitas" https://www.losandescopper.com/projects/overview/
18. 8.30 PM (ET) - Gary Allard (Emcee) – "The Rain Came Down"
19. 8.35 PM (ET) - Jendog Lonewolf  (Emcee) – "TBD" www.instagram.com/ilovejendog
20. 8.40 PM (ET) - Mary Lutz – "I'll Never Be A Capitalist"
21. 8.45 PM (ET) - Angie Whitehurst – "Let it Be Not" www.streetsensemedia.org/article/let-it-be-not/
22. 8.50 PM (ET) - Al McCray – "Love's in Need of Love Today"
23. 8.55 PM (ET) - Mary McCaffrey – "Something Inside So Strong"  by Labi Siffre  
24. 9.00 PM (ET) - Dada Veda – "Trickle on Down" www.dadaveda.com
25. 9.05 PM (ET) - Crys Matthews – "Rising Tides" www.crysmatthews.com
26. 9.10 PM (ET) - robert brashear – "How Long" www.revernation.com/robertbrashear
27. 9.15 PM (ET) - Ruby Poltorak – "Poem"
28. 9.20 PM (ET) - William (Bill) Miller – "The Fields of Athenry"
29. 9.25 PM (ET) - Matt Div – "TBD" www.linktr.ee/mattdivmusic
30. 9.30 PM (ET) - Jason Baker – "We've Been Dark Ever Since" www.jbakervt.com/
31. 9.35 PM (ET) - Louise Hetzler – "TBD"
32. 9.40 PM (ET) - Steve Siegelbaum – "Journey to Justice"
33. 9.45 PM (ET) - Bev Grant – "TBD" www.bevgrant.com
34. 9.50 PM (ET) - Mark Levy – "Won't know until just before. Topics temporal." www.marklevymusic.com
35. 9.55 PM (ET) - Pat Lamanna – "David and Goliath" www.patlamanna.com/
36. 10.00 PM (ET) - Ryc Ward – "Enough to Go Around" www.rycward.com
37. 10.05 PM (ET) - Debra Rothman – "I Am Willing"
38. 10.10 PM (ET) - Marc Hecker – "Brown-Skin Girls"
39. 10.15 PM (ET) - Martin Swinger  (Emcee) – "All we need is A Safe Place" www.martinswinger.com
40. 10.20 PM (ET) - Ben Grosscup – "Love Me, I'm Liberal" www.youtube.com/c/bengrosscup
41. 10.25 PM (ET) - jean young – "Balance the Budget"
42. 10.30 PM (ET) - Will Fudeman – "No Master Race" www.willfudeman.com
43. 10.35 PM (ET) - Sharleen Leahey – "Amadou" www.sharleenleahey.com
44. 10.40 PM (ET) - Fields-Chern Prize Medalist, Nobel Laureate ELYAS FRAENKEL ISAACS PHD DPH DDIV DCJC MD GS100 – "Down.To The River To Pray"
45. 10.45 PM (ET) - Mara Levine with Gathering Time  – "Daughters And Sons by Tommy Sands" www.maralevine.com
46. 11.50 PM (ET) - Jonathan Best – "We Can Change the Ways of the World and I'll Dance to That"
47. 10.55 PM (ET) - "Cleo" Carol Knopf – "Thank You Bobby Sands" www.Poemdancer.com
48. 11.00 PM (ET) - Derek Kalteaux – "Edward Snowy" www.linktr.ee/kalteaux
49. 11.05 PM (ET) - Jenny Amanda Hurwitz – "TBD" http://youtu.be/4Ff3NuDPLVU
50. 11.10 PM (ET) - STORM just – "TBD"
51. 11.15 PM (ET) - Joanne Tuller – "TBD"
52. 11.20 PM (ET) - Ruben Gonzalez – "Food on the Table" www.rubengonzalezmusic.com
53. 11.25 PM (ET) - Alice Sutter – "Almost Four Billion a Year"
54. 11.30 PM (ET) - Delphyne  – "Who's My Enemy" www.reverbnation.com/delphyne2
55. 11.35 PM (ET) - Paul Kaplan – "TBD" www.paulkaplanmusic.com
56. 11.40 PM (ET) - Buzz Merrick – "TBD"
57. 11.45 PM (ET) - Steve Suffet – "On My Long Journey Home" www.stevesuffet.com
58. 10.50 PM (ET) - Larry Hildes – "The Coming of the Night"
59. 11.55 PM (ET) - Michael & Nell  – "Jerusalem" www.michaelandnell.com
60. 12.00 AM (ET) - Hali Hammer – "Coming Out of Stagnation" www.halihammer.com
61. 12.05 AM (ET) - Scott Free – "SHUT ‘EM DOWN" www.scottfree.net
62. 12.10 AM (ET) - Paul McKenna – "A Cradle of Stone" www.paulmckennamusic.com
63. 12.15 AM (ET) - Don Billings – "How Many Need Die?"


Eligibility to Perform

Performers in this Round Robin must:

1)   Be PMN members in good standing.* 

2)   Register using this online form.  (Press "Register" on the left hand menu)

3)   Also be registered for the 2021 Virtual PMN Summer Convergence.

4)   Have a computer or other device with functioning video camera and microphone.

* If you are not a PMN member, you may join here: https://www.peoplesmusic.org/join-PMN

How we Select the Performers

Every PMN member wishing to perform at this event is invited to register and to do so sooner than later.  Selection for the final performer list, however, is not first-come first-served.  Instead, we give priority to new PMN members as well as PMN members who have not yet performed in one of our previous online swap events.  We hold these song swap events regularly.  If we can't fit you in this time, anticipate more opportunities soon!

Technical Orientation Session: Thursday, June 34:00-5:30 PM

Selected performers will receive an e-mail invitation to a technical orientation session at the time listed above by the morning of the same day.  We will discuss and practice how to get the best sound when sharing music on Zoom.  Each performer will have a chance to sing a verse of a song and then receive feedback on ways to improve the audio quality.  While perfection is not expected, artists new to Zoom are strongly encouraged to attend the tech run through, because doing so will build your confidence in using these tools.  The audio quality that listeners hear of your live performance depends on the equipment you have and how you use it.  Find tips to improve audio quality here.


© 2017 People's Music Network for Songs of Freedom and Struggle.
People's Music Network is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

PMN Video Livestreams on Facebook and Youtube

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software